Our History


It all started when...

On 1st April, 1834 after a meeting of the Vault Committee in the old Ballylinney graveyard a further meeting took place to initiate proposals to establish the first Presbyterian Meeting house in the Parish of Ballylinney. It was agreed to "petition" Thomas Greg of Ballymenoch for half an acre of ground then in the possession of William Ross. Mr Greg granted the land free of rent or charge of any kind with £10 subscription.

The foundation stone was laid on 6th May, 1835 by James Owens of Holestone. Inside the foundation stone was placed a bottle containing coins of the realm, a copy of the Belfast Almanack Newsletter, Minutes of the Synod of Ulster 1834 and a paper with the names of the Congregational Committee. The Meeting House was opened on 11th September 1836 by the Rev Dr Henry Cooke of May Street, Belfast. Seating was installed the following year.


1840 Ballylinney placed in Carrickfergus Presbytery

1842 First Elders ordained

1883 Manse built on Hillhead Road

1923 First organ installed in Church

1956 Electric heating and lighting installed

1961 Land purchased for car park

1966 Stables converted to enlarge the hall, kitchen and provide toilets

1977 New Hall opened named after Rev. C.F. Young

1997 New suite of halls opened adjoining the C.F. Young Hall and on the site of the old halls.

2000 A Millennium Wood established.


Rev. Isaac Adams 1837 - 1880

Rev. James Foster Williams 1881 - 1899

Rev. Hugh Craig Meeke 1899 - 1904

Rev. John Kyle 1905 - 1911

Rev. Wilson Moreland Kennedy 1912 - 1921

Rev. Ernest McConnell 1921 - 1958

Rev. Charles Frances Young 1959 - 1982

Rev. Robert Vallely 1983 - 2009

Rev. Emerson McDowell 2010-present